Loose Ends

Mums don’t get sick days, so when everyone else was sick the week we were moving I held strong. I didn’t get sick during the move, I didn’t get sick while we were settling in. Now that we are settled and Paul’s parents have come and gone, now it hits me. It’s the same thing Paul had in California: mild cold symptoms with unbelievable fatigue. Blue is certainly unhappy that I have substituted myself for the television for three days. (I guess I am happy to know I am not so easily replaced.)

So to make the misery complete I finally called the school district to give up Blue’s spot at our beloved school in California. I’m still crying over that call. I didn’t expect to be so emotional a month after the move, but here I am.

There are a lot of good things about living here, but I will never get over my love for that school. Fortunately I have the capacity to love more than one school — just as soon as I find a new school worthy of my affections.

3 Responses to Loose Ends

  1. feathersky says:

    I hope you find a worthy school by this fall! Maybe there’s a jewel of a charter school hidden somewhere there!

    I hope you feel better soon! I let the kids watch a TON of old Inspector Gadget cartoons on hulu today while I was packing and moving the school room. I *am* that easily replaced. haha

  2. onemorequirk says:

    you know, i blame Texas. 😉

    hope you are feeling better, and if not yet, soon.

  3. Karen says:

    I’m sad for you that you had to leave that great school behind, but think of how much better other things are for you now.

Leave a Reply

