Revelation

Red said to us a few weeks ago, “I don’t know that I believe in God. I pray, but I’ve never heard a voice.” It was one of the most beautiful things he’s ever said. Paul and I were both able to say, “neither have I.” We followed by sharing how we do know that our prayers are being answered, and how we feel that God talks to us. Not long after we had a discussion at church on receiving revelation. When asked if and how we receive revelation the room was coyly silent so I raised my hand.

I explained how cerebral it was for me, that inspiration came as clarity of thought combined with a depth of peace never replicated anywhere else. I told how it always came after wrestling out the ideas and coming to a conclusion.  It happens for me in the form of confirmation (or the opposite!) of the conclusion I worked out on my own.  And I told them of the anecdote of my seven year old commenting that he’d never heard a voice.

Soon women around the room began to share their experiences and they were as varied as the women themselves. There are people who do hear voices. There are people who have visions, or have visionary dreams. I learned that the way we receive communication from God is as different as we are. There is no one right away, there is only the way that works for us. It’s such a beautiful, lovely, comforting thought.

4 Responses to Revelation

  1. mcinsane says:

    So very true! The only time I have ever heard a voice was when I had Mordecai. I really struggle with knowing I get answers, at least lately. BUT, the time I KNOW have had received an answer it has been a calm, peaceful, feeling in my heart. And a desire to move forward.

  2. Sally says:

    This is a beautiful, lovely, and comforting post.

  3. Gretta says:

    This is great. I feel for that Red. Honestly, I wish I was one of those people with the more concrete answers, but I’m not. I think God wants us to develop our critical thinking skills and learn to trust ourselves as well as Him.

    • Zen Mama says:

      I love what you said here and I think you’re absolutely right. After all, isn’t the glory of God intelligence? (Pretty sure I heard that somewhere …)

Leave a Reply

