Mothering 

When Red was a baby I dropped whatever I was doing at bedtime. We left activities (even church ones for which I was responsible,) did not pass go, did not collect $200, and went straight to bed. I was pretty good at recognizing the sanctity of bedtime with Blue as well. But now there is soccer practice, Boy Scouts, and other extra curriculars, in addition to church stuff and bedtime can be summed up with a big hearty LOL. It’s bad enough how often the older ones are up late on school nights but it’s really hard on the baby, who treats every sleep as a nap. I just laugh when people ask me if he’s sleeping through the night. He did better the first few months than he does now and it’s our fault. 

I can’t mother my baby the way my instincts tell me to because i also have to mother my bigger babies. I tell him often “but I was a great mum to your brothers!” 

Pro Tip: don’t let the nurses at the hospital hear you say that unless you want to go home with a stack of papers on postpartum depression. 

One Response to Mothering 

  1. mcinsane says:

    I’m so with you on this one. I just feel like a bigger and bigger failure with each child. And then they become teenagers and they throw all the hard work you put into them back in your face. If they could just stay 2 years old forever, I would be one GREAT mom!

    Hang in there and know that we may be thousands of miles away, but we are living parallel lives!

Leave a Reply

