I Went to Sleep at 2 am

I went to sleep at 2am because I crawled into bed at ten to two.
I crawled into bed at ten to two because I didn’t get home until sometime after one.
I didn’t get home until sometime after one because I was the last person in our carpool to be dropped off and we didn’t leave the party until twenty to one. (Which, by the way, means we made incredible time.)
We didn’t leave the party until twenty to one because we had only barely broken out the desserts at midnight.
We’d only barely broken out the desserts at midnight (or later?) because we didn’t even start dinner until probably eleven.
We didn’t start dinner until eleven because we had to talk about our plans for middle school and high school and how to take over the world, and take a group shot and having the grill going would definitely have ruined the picture.
We didn’t take the picture until late because we had appetizers going until sometime after nine (which I didn’t believe when someone told us it was nine, because how was that even possible?)
We prepared and ate our appetizers until after nine because they were sooo good, and anyway, most of us didn’t arrive until seven pm and since we’re all such good friends the time just flew by; that’s why, for the first time in probably my whole life, I went to sleept at 2 am.

I could have stayed with those women, the other mothers in our class, and chatted all night.  (I have to keep pinching myself that this is real, and this is public school.  It feels like a dream lottery.)

3 Responses to I Went to Sleep at 2 am

  1. feathersky says:

    How fun!!! Except for the 2am part. Cuz I know the kids still got up at 7am, right? 😛

  2. mcinsane says:

    Fun! Fun! Fun!!

Leave a Reply

