Groceries

I don’t want to shop at a store that sells half of the foods I like, I want to shop at a store in which I only recognize half of the foods. Fortunately for me, today I went to the Korean market. All is right in the world.

4 Responses to Groceries

  1. feathersky says:

    One time in Nashville Nathan took me to the international market. It smelled so bad I nearly puked 5 feet into the store. I walked in, turned around and walked right back out.

    And that was my multicultural life experience. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    So, what’d you buy at the Korean market?

    • Zen Mama says:

      You can commiserate with Blue about the smell, he held his nose the entire time and I had to keep reminding him to keep his mouth shut and not be rude. We didn’t buy much because we’re still paying off the move, but I got coconut milk (so many varieties!!!!) a bag of oranges, some potstickers and some treats. I resisted the urge to walk into the bakery. I can’t wait to go back — the produce section was huge! I have so many new foods to try! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Andrea says:

    potstickers are worth any number of overwhelming horrible smells

  3. Karen says:

    Our Asian grocery has durrian (sp?) fruit. They keep it in a freezer, so it doesn’t smell. (One day, my friend and I are going to buy one, defrost it and cut it up in the backyard. I’ve never tried it before but she has and she says to some sensitive people it smells like animal dung. I am eager to test my sensitivity. I hope I can end up eating it.)

    As for the rest of the market, one day they had live blue crabs for sale at the back of the store. Pretty, but smelly.

    My favourite part about my last visit was the cashier, a young girl singing along perfectly to the song being broadcast in the store. Not sure what language it was, but it sure sounded better being sung by a real person.

Leave a Reply

